Vegan Alcohol

A minority of wines, beers, and liqueurs are made with animal products. Here's how to be sure you're drinking the vegan stuff.

It’s easy to find vegan alcohol, but you have to do some research since beer and wine can be processed using animal products such as isinglass, egg whites, or gelatin. Unfortunately these ingredients are never listed on the labels, since alcohol is commonly exempt from the labeling requirements of other food products.

Fortunately, virtually every brand of hard liquor—bourbon, whiskey, vodka, gin, and rum—is vegan. Nearly all distilled spirits are vegan except for cream-based liqueurs and products that mention honey on the label.

Here are some of the most popular vegan alcohol brands:

Liquor

  • Absolut
  • Bacardi Rum
  • Grey Goose
  • Hangar 1
  • Malibu Rum
  • Skyy Vodka

Beer

  • Budweiser (except their horrifying Clamato variety)
  • Coors and Coors Light
  • Miller Lite, High-Life, & Genuine Draft
  • Pabst Blue Ribbon
  • Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
  • Yuengling

Wine

  • Charles Shaw (red wines only)
  • Frey Vineyards
  • The Vegan Vine
  • Red Truck Wines
  • Yellowtail (red wines only; not white or rosé)

You can check the vegan status of most bestselling beers and wines on Barnivore, which does an amazing job of maintaining a current and comprehensive vegan booze list.

Amazon Links

The Vegan Vine Wine