Vegan Burgers

If you love burgers, you've got a fantastic variety of vegan choices available.
Vegan Burger

Back in the 1950s, before the emergence of Taco Bell and Subway, hamburgers defined the American fast food meal. Today, thanks to pink slime and animal welfare concerns, Americans are increasingly gravitating towards hamburger alternatives. There are many.

Veggie burgers are among the most common vegetarian offerings in the restaurant business, but in many cases the veggie burger patty or bun will contain egg or dairy ingredients. However, Denny’s, Red Robin, and Johnny Rockets all sell vegan veggie burgers. Always be sure to request no mayo or cheese, since many restaurants will add it to their otherwise-vegan offering.

Likewise, many commercial veggie burgers sold in supermarket freezer sections are not vegan. But there are vegan veggie burgers manufactured by Amy’s, Field Roast, Gardein, Wildwood, and Boca. Always check the ingredients label before purchasing.

Vegan burger patties can also be made at home. There are recipes online and multiple cookbooks dedicated to vegan burgers. A typical vegan veggie burger patty will contain grains, breadcrumbs, and minced veggies, plus some seitan which provides a meaty chewiness. Since garnishes are generally the best part of a hamburger, be generous in dispensing ketchup, mustard, vegan mayo, pickles, tomato, grilled onions, and lettuce.

             

Amazon Links