Vegan Beer

While it’s easy to find vegan beer, remember that not all beer is vegan. In fact, not all beer is even vegetarian. Just before bottling, beer is often filtered using animal products such as isinglass (fish bladder) or gelatin. Some sweeter beers contain honey.

The biggest vegan beer news of the past decade is that Guinness recently announced that the stout it brews in Ireland will be vegan upon the completion of its new brewery at the end of 2016. Popular Science published an article describing what this conversion will entail.

You can look up the vegan status of any beer on Barnivore.com. But to get you started, here here is a list of common beers that are not processed using animal products:

  • Allagash Brewing Company
  • Anchor Brewing Company
  • Budweiser and Bud Light
  • Coors and Coors Light
  • Guinness
  • Lagunitas Brewing Company
  • New Belgium
  • Samuel Adams Boston Lager
  • Sapporo
  • Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
  • 21st Amendment

Don’t miss the Vegan.com guides to vegan wine and alcohol.

You can subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe

Copyright © 2008-2019 Mocana Productions, Inc. All rights reserved. Made with by Cloudnames

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search